Quantcast

VideoPad by NCH Video Editing Software Review Day 1

by Scott
(Georgia, USA)

Today, I learned that the video editing software I planned on using to document a cross-country bike trip was not compatible with my Windows 7 Home Premium Dell computer.


I dashed to CNet to get reviews and advice on what editing software would suffice. I was set to leave in three days and was worried that learning a new editing software while trying to document the event would leave me at my wits end. I have had previous video editing experience, 10 years ago, and knew all to well that the landscape had changed drastically over those 10 years. I needed something that would cover basic video editing needs.

I had no intention of creating a “masterpiece”. I just needed something that was easy and efficient and something that could be easily learned.



NCH Software Videopad



After reading reviews and user comments over the course of an afternoon, I downloaded a free trial version from CNET of VideoPad v2.30, by NCH. As promised from reviews and user comments, VideoPad downloaded almost instantly. After I clicked the download button I began to step into the kitchen expecting a 5-10 minute download process. VideoPad did not even allow me to poke my head inside the refrigerator. Before I could get out of my chair, the editing software was live on my screen, waiting to be used. It was a good first impression.

I played around with the software for an hour, running into a few obstacles along the way. For the most part, VideoPad is extremely intuitive. Even an old-school editor as myself had little trouble figuring out how to make this program sing-or at least belt out a few notes in tune within the first few hours.

VideoPad comes with an ample amount of effects, most of which I know I will never use. There’s nothing more irritating that using a variety of wipes and fades between edits. All I need are a few wipes and a few fades and the ability to control the length of these video transitions. VideoPad also has it’s own music library which, for me, was very important. A good music bed can make all the difference in the tone and outcome of a video. The music choices in VideoPad are short, no full length songs from what I can tell so far, but I was not looking for that anyway. I can easily loop the songs to cover the allotted time needed to cover the video. Along with the music library, VideoPad offers the ability to fade in and fade out of music as well as making the music rise and fall as needed. Not only does this program come with music, it also comes with sound effects. I’m not sure how valuable they will be for my particular needs, but it is nice to know that I can draw upon those resources if needed.

So far, in one afternoon, I have completed a video a day ahead of deadline and also produced some short family videos. Another aspect of VideoPad that has caught my attention is the ability to narrate the video in real-time. I simply click the Narrate button and a new window pops up. From there all I had to was was click the red record button and I could speak toward my computer with its internal mic as the video timeline moved forward. This is indeed a bonus. I now have ideas on how to produce videos that I hadn’t considered before.

Sure, VideoPad is not the best video editor. But I don’t want or need Final Cut or anything of that magnitude. Maybe one day I will, but I doubt it. I love editing videos. I hate conversions and upgrades and the overwhelming amount of learning that accompanies the high-end video editing software. I want the editing process to be fun and easy.

In conclusion, after a half-day of using VideoPad’s free 14 day trial, I can already see that I will be buying this software. Sure, other program’s may do more, but I will never need 80% of what they offer. I think I have found a new friend. One that will make me look good and will provide my clients with what they need in record time.

Comments for VideoPad by NCH Video Editing Software Review Day 1

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks for the Review
by: Webmaster

Thanks for the review of the VideoPad. There are so many new types of software and upgrades, it's good to get a review from a real end user. Thanks Scott! Please keep us posted as you continue to use the software.

Jan 05, 2012
Rating
starstar
Pay for support
by: Anonymous

I bought the professional version n initially it worked just fine, but after just a few projects, an error occurred. Could not create movie, something about not being able to initialize video output, what I am very unhappy about is the fact that I have to pay an additional $30+ for support which i am not prepared to do and am now looking at other video editing software. I would rather spend my money on something that would stand by their product and render assistance for free when needed.

Aug 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
VideoPad A OK
by: lago

I agree with the 1st review, it's simple to use & works well & able to import most types of film files easily.
Previously I used MagixMovieMaker, terrible FREE customer service or should I say zero c service?
I also was making a movie with VideoPad after a few minutes, my only minus is the interface but prefer a program to work than look pretty!

Oct 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Video pad output not initializing
by: Brooke Saunders

I can't save a movie, and I get the notice mentioned before, can't initialize output. I can't get in touch with NCH personnel. The output file name has only letters, no symbols. Guess I have to pay $30 unless someone has any ideas on how to figure it myself.

Mar 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why I Won't Recommend VideoPad
by: Anonymous

If it wasn't for three problems, I would recommend VideoPad.

First - You can't loop short video's without a delay at the end of most video's. The program will only save proper video loops randomly which really sucks.

Second - If you try to work on a large project, You're almost guaranteed that the program will crash every time. Even short clips will crash.

Third - This is an example of what I wanted to do, but I got nothing but bullshit. What they call customer service, they won't give you straight answers on how to get rid of the delay at the end of the video...

AND THEY EXPECT MONEY FOR THIS PROGRAM!!!!!

Jul 04, 2013
Rating
starstar
Synch Problems with Video Editor
by: Anonymous

Used the trial version and it seemed to work fine. Now working on larger projects, the sound and video are out of synch. Oddly when I play the .avi clip standalone, with flash or windows media player, the video speed and music are in synch. I tried unlinking the sound and relinking, but still out of synch. The video looks like it is in slow motion. Any larger project (30 minutes or more) and it's slow and cumbersome. Took 2 hours to save a 2 min 30 sec clip to .avi. Takes a long time to burn to DVD.

Jan 30, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sync problem
by: Anonymous

The editing was nice and simple, but I'm having the audio sync issue too. It's maddening. The audio is perfectly in sync on the editor, but when i export the video it falls out of sync. I've tried numerous different file types to no avail. If you don't have footage of someone speaking, it's no big. But in my case, It appears I've wasted $40.

Jul 04, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HOW TO FIX THE SYNC ISSUE
by: Anonymous

Simply click on the video clip that has the audio lag and/or the video appears to be playing in slow motion, once clicked... Click on change Effect and just click on the "Speed" Effect but don't adjust the speed, just leave it at 100, unless you want to either speed up or slow down your file, let your clip process (little green bar above your video clip", boom done!

Feb 22, 2015
Rating
star
Not Worth the Money
by: Anonymous

VideoPad has issues -- SERIOUS issues! First, the program does not run that well if you have any other programs running. Second, VideoPad is a hog of system resources. Third, the choices for transitions are quite limited for a "pay" program. I really expected more than I got. Fourth, there is no way to vary the volume of sound during a clip that I have found. When you set a volume value, it remains at that value throughout the clip. Same for any additional music tracks you may want to add.

The program is easy to use. I just wish that it was better and was worth the asking price. There is another video editor called Wondershare that costs the same as VideoPad but has so much more. It is not as easy to use as Videopad, but perhaps that is because it is a far better designed and written program. It is definitely worth a look.

Mar 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
One clip won't download
by: Anonymous

Hi, Video'd a wedding. Came out great. Downloaded from SD Card to a folder. Opened and saved them in Video pad project, that is all except one. The speeches one .Starts to download. But when it reaches 60% it stops. Tries to start again at a slower speed but stops, with no explanation. The clips plays perfectly on Video and other programmed, just won't go on to videopad. HELP

Jun 10, 2015
Rating
star
Yet another POS Sharware garbage..
by: TZO2K15

I never purchase share/trial-ware as the programs are mostly overpriced freeware-quality as the "Professional" versions can't even encode lossless!

My reason for disliking this POS, is due to the fact that you cannot even set any video for encoding other than birate, size and format, and don't get me started on the anti-customizing settings for the "stabilizing effect" as it's not guaranteed that your video will even save without crashing, even if it takes upwards of an hour to run it's course!

If you want an actual professional encoder/stablizer for your project, simply use virtual dub instead, (It's free!) otherwise just throw your money away on these cheap-ware garbage, or better yet, give it to me!

Jun 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
File Output Error
by: Difor

i cant save video. It shows file output error.

Jul 01, 2016
Rating
star
Warning Do Not Use
by: Lorin

For a simple Video Editor it in not intuitive and requires too much time to learn basic functions.

Rendered video is often corrupt and doesn't play back properly on Windows 10- Movies & TV App.

Tech support prefer to argue with their customers rather than acknowledge the problem.

NCH operates more like a Internet scam than a reputable software company.'

A waste of time and money.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Video Editing Software Reviews.

Ready To Make Your Dream Documentary?

Sign up for our exclusive 7-day crash course and learn step-by-step how to make a documentary from idea to completed film!